IPA Policy Manual

Chapter 4 – Membership

4.3 Membership Awards

The IPA establishes the following awards to recognize the outstanding accomplishments of school administrators and to assure that these individuals receive the acclaim and recognition they deserve:

High School Principal of the Year Middle School Principal of the Year Assistant Principal of the Year Elementary Principal of the Year Herman Graves Award Reaching Out & Building Bridges Award

An Awards Committee, consisting of the five most immediate IPA past presidents, shall have the exclusive responsibility for reviewing applications and selecting award winners. The current IPA Past-President shall not be a member of the Awards Committee.

The IPA may establish other awards, honors and scholarships, which shall be approved by the IPA Board of Directors. The Board of Directors may appropriate funds to cover expenses of IPA members who win NASSP and NAESP sponsored awards.

Criteria for all awards, including eligibility, the application deadline and information on the selection process, shall be made available to all IPA members through the IPA website and through other publications, determined by the IPA Executive Director.

Current Awards Committee members and Current Statewide Officers are not eligible to receive any of the awards specifically listed in this policy during their respective terms of office.

Adopted: July 17, 2008 Revised: October 20, 2013 Revised: July 26, 2023