February 12, 2025 Contact: Jason E. Leahy, Executive Director, Illinois Principals Association, Springfield IL Phone: 217-525-1383 Email: jason@ilprincipals.org For Immediate Release

Illinois Principals Association Announces 2025 John Ourth & Dr. Fred Singleton Professional Development Scholarship Recipients

Springfield, IL – The Illinois Principals Association is pleased to announce Shaun Grant, Principal of South School, Chillicothe; Jennifer Hartmann, Associate Principal for Operations and Activities at Memorial Junior High School, Lansing; and Yalil Nieves, Principal of Mary Gage Peterson Elementary School, Chicago as recipients of the 2025 John Ourth and Dr. Fred Singleton Professional Development Scholarships. Scholarship grants help individuals pursue graduate study, attend national conferences, and attend other relevant professional development to further the capacities of school administrators to be instructional leaders.

Shaun Grant has served as principal of South School in the Illinois Valley Central School District #321 since 2014. He began his career as an elementary and high school art teacher in the Peoria Public School District 150. Grant's leadership experience includes substitute dean of Peoria High School, principal of Richwoods High School and assistant principal of Lincoln Middle School in Peoria, principal of Princeville Grade School in Princeville. Grant is a graduate of Eastern Illinois University with a Bachelor of Arts in Education with a Visual Arts Concentration and a Master of Arts in Educational Administration from Bradley University. He is pursuing a Superintendent Certificate from the University of Illinois at Springfield.

Jennifer Hartmann has served as Associate Principal at Memorial Junior High School in Lansing School District 158 since 2021. Hartmann began her educational career as a social studies teacher at Rickover Junior High School in Sauk Village, Perspectives/IIT Math & Science Academy in Chicago, and PFC Omar E. Torres Charter School in Chicago. Hartmann's leadership experience includes serving as assistant principal at Parker Junior High School in Flossmoor and Kankakee High School in Kankakee. Hartmann received a bachelor's degree in history from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, a master's degree in liberal arts and sciences from the University of Chicago, and a master's degree in educational administration from Roosevelt University. Hartmann is pursuing a doctoral degree at Concordia University.

Yalil Nieves has served as principal of Mary Gage Peterson Elementary School in Chicago Public Schools since 2020. She began her career in education as an ESL adult educator at Richard J. Daley Community College in Chicago, and as a history and Spanish teacher at Wells Community Academy High School in Chicago. Nieves previously served as Resident Principal at Mary Gage Peterson Elementary. Nieves also participated as an Emergent Leader through the New Leaders program in Chicago. A graduate of Northeastern Illinois University with a Bachelor of Arts in Education and Spanish, Nieves continued her education by completing a Master of Arts in History from Loyola University, Master of Arts in Literacy Education from Northeastern Illinois University, an ESL/Bilingual Endorsement from Dominican University, and Principal Preparation through New Leaders for New Schools in Chicago. Nieves is pursuing a doctoral degree in educational leadership from Loyola University.

The John Ourth & Dr. Fred Singleton Professional Development Scholarships were established in 2007 to recognize the contributions of John Ourth and Dr. Fred Singleton, former Field Directors for the Illinois Principals Association. Three \$1,000 scholarships are awarded each year. Mr. Ourth passed away shortly after the creation of the scholarship on December 10, 2007. Dr. Singleton retired in 2014 after 50 years of service in education.

Grant, Hartmann, and Nieves will be recognized in October at a special ceremony during the IPA Education Leaders Annual Conference in October 2025.

The Illinois Principals Association is a leadership organization serving over 6,600 educational leaders throughout Illinois whose mission is to develop, support, and advocate for innovative educational leaders. The John Ourth & Dr. Fred Singleton Professional Development Scholarship is supported by funds provided by the Illinois Principals Association Foundation.

For more information about the IPA, please visit <u>www.ilprincipals.org</u>.

###