Illinois Principals Association Names Hattie Llewellyn as 2018 Herman Graves Award Recipient

Springfield, IL – Hattie Llewellyn, principal of New Berlin Jr./Sr. High School, New Berlin, IL has received the 2018 Herman Graves Award from the Illinois Principals Association.

The Herman Graves Award was established in 1991 to recognize outstanding service to IPA. Herman Graves was selected as the first honoree and the award was established because of the intrinsic contributions he made to the Association and his enthusiasm for the profession. Regional winners are chosen from the 21 regional areas of the Illinois Principals Association. From these elite administrators, a state winner is chosen by a committee comprised of IPA Past Presidents.

"Hattie Llewellyn embodies all of the characteristics of the late Herman Graves," said Jason Leahy, Executive Director of the Illinois Principals Association. "She is a student-centered leader who works tirelessly to do what is best for her students. Further, she is a strong advocate for the profession of school leadership and the work of the Illinois Principals Association. Her track record of success and accomplishments speaks for itself."

Hattie Llewellyn has been a member of the Illinois Principals Association since 2005. During this time, she has served on the Southwestern Region board as Region Director and State Director, and served the Abe Lincoln region as Membership Chair, Region Director, and State Director. Most recently, Llewellyn served as IPA President (2017-2018). Llewellyn has also served as a representative to the Illinois State Educator and Licensure Preparation Board, Next Generation Science Standards Development Committee, and Illinois State Board of Education 5Essentials Committee. Llewellyn has also advocated for Illinois school leaders in Washington D.C. with the National Association of Secondary School Principals (NASSP).

Llewellyn has been recognized by her peers and fellow administrators by selection for the Reaching Out and Building Bridges Award through the Abe Lincoln region of the IPA for her partnership with the Jared's Keepers suicide awareness organization in 2016, and partnership with Central Illinois McDonald's in 2013. She was previously named Abe Lincoln Region High School Principal of the Year in 2014.

Llewellyn began her career in education in 1994 as a science teacher at Althoff Catholic High School in Belleville, IL. She continued her career as a science teacher at Waterloo High School. Llewellyn's first administrative role was as principal of Valmeyer High School in Valmeyer, IL in 2005. She returned to serve as Curriculum Director of Waterloo Community School District 5 in 2009 and since 2011, Llewellyn has served as principal of New Berlin Jr./Sr. High School in New Berlin, IL.

Llewellyn resides in New Berlin, Illinois with her husband Aaron Llewellyn and daughter Grace Doyle, student at New Berlin High School. Her family also includes daughters Taylor Maus, 2nd grade teacher at New Berlin Elementary School and McKenzie Doyle, 4th grade teacher in Jackson, MO, and step-children Anna and J.R. Llewellyn. Llewellyn received a Bachelor of Arts in Biology, Secondary Education from McKendree University, a Master of Science in Educational Administration from Southern Illinois University Edwardsville, and a Specialist in Education degree in Educational Leadership from the University of Illinois at Springfield.

The Illinois Principals Association is a leadership organization which serves over 5,000 educational leaders throughout the state of Illinois and whose mission is to develop, support, and advocate for innovative educational leaders. For more information about the IPA, please visit www.ilprincipals.org.

The Herman Graves Award is sponsored by Horace Mann Companies of Springfield, IL.